Fifty Images – 2.0

I am not going to be chronological – but I thought it would be good to start near the beginning…

three-of-us

This image makes me smile at myself. It reminds me how lovely it is to be a small person – totally in the moment.

It reminds me where my love of photography came from – my Dad gave me my first camera and I’m sure his great sense of composition must have had some influence. I don’t know that I’ll ever be as good technically as he must’ve been, as he even developed his own film, but I can capture a well balanced image.

The biggest thing that stands out to me is the image of my Mum as a relative newcomer to parenthood. I’m not sure I could put a number on how many children she has raised – six of her own and many others fostered, minded and supported.

I have had one child, an amazing young woman, now starting her own journey into the world,  and where my mother took that role to a whole new level – I have always found the borders between mother and self-hood to be a wild and sometimes frustrating place. One difference has been doing the job solo – trying to do the job of two and not always feeling that I was getting it right enough for one. And I’m learning to be with Leonard in these matters…

The birds they sang

At the break of day

Start again

I heard them say

Don’t dwell on what

Has passed away

Or what is yet to be.

Ring the bells that still can ring

Forget your perfect offering

There is a crack in everything

That’s how the light gets in.

Leonard Cohen

One thought on “Fifty Images – 2.0

Leave a comment