Crafting Time

Over the last few months I have been really lucky in getting involved with my friend Nina’s fabby craft shop “It’s Crafting Time”. I’ve spent some time working in the shop which is great fun. Helped Nina out at Ally Pally – and I’ve been designing samples using a lot of her fantastic “7Gypsies” range.

The shop is in a Unit just off the A10 near Melbourne and Shepreth – It’s a lovely airy space with a workshop up on the mezzanine floor.

These is one of the things I’ve been working on –

This was a naked 7Gypsies Tag Book – I used some of their very tactile dotty, red, velvet paper and Ranger Crackle Paint for the cover and some amazing adhesive printer paper. It comes in a pack from Nina’s  for around £1.00 and doesn’t look very promising but my photographs and Quotes printed beautifully with really vivid colours.

I really liked the way the background turned out – I think I didn’t so much distress the card as traumatise it.

  1. Ink the tag around the edges.
  2. Spritz with water
  3. Press a couple of distress ink stamp pads onto a craft sheet.
  4. Spritz, then swipe the card through the ink
  5. Crumple the card (ok – it is a bit messy doing it this way)
  6. Swipe again.
  7. Iron.
  8. Repeat until Tag is sobbing and rocking in the corner!

What I like about this effect is the really faded look I got and the softness of the paper at the end of the process. I then stamped a swirl stamp with Walnut Stain Distress Ink. The bird stamp on the previous photo is from  7Gypsies Victoria set.

If anyone wants more info please feel free to ask.

Leave a Reply

